Central Portugal – Off the Tourist Trail

Picture My week. The best laid plans …

4 Comments

Last week, after my parents went home , I had a list of what I needed/ wanted to do.

Complete a TEFL assignment
Start my Portuguese practise
Meet a friend and go for a swim
Get back into my creative work -do some calligraphy , finish a painting, and make some jewellery
Continue learning how to make an on-line shop
Start some regular exercise again

But sometimes things just come along and say ” I don’t think so ! ”
That’s what happened this week.
I got sick… with a kidney infection

20th July 2014 002

So My plans changed .
Instead I…..


Spent hours visiting my bathroom
Watched DVD’s
Drank gallons of water
Cuddled up with a hot water bottle
Visited the doctor
Chewed on anti biotics and painkillers
Experimented with ways to stop cold sores taking over my face …Earl Grey tea, aguadente , toothpaste and honey have been tried !
Avoided the sun ( not easy when its 32 degrees & sunny)

Towards the end of the week I started to get a few things done. I managed to make a Polymer clay cane ( see my craftinginportugal blog ) started my TEFL assignment, and went for a short morning walk, (where I felt like Bambi, on new legs)
Although It has not been the best week, It has been a good lesson in acceptance, and letting go of things you can not change.

I am now finally feeling my old self again, and so I hope to share my photos of a much more interesting week next week!

Author: portugalholidayguide

I love making and creating , and trying out new ideas .

4 thoughts on “Picture My week. The best laid plans …

  1. Hope you’re feeling better! πŸ™‚

  2. Hope you have time for that swim this week!

  3. I hope you continue to feel better. Sometimes, we just have to go with the flow, and pick up and carry on. I’m sorry, though, that you had to go through that. Looking forward to your progress this week. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

