Central Portugal – Off the Tourist Trail

GOIS OROSO ARTE- 2013 PART 1

Leave a comment

The last few weeks have been pretty busy. My mum and dad have been here on holiday, and so most days we have been out and about, visiting villages, river beaches, and cafes, and I have hardly had time to switch on my laptop.
The day after they left I checked my e mails, and had a lovely surprise; a friend had sent me information about a 3 day Art event in Gois, starting that day .

Gois and a town in Galicia called Oroso have joined together every year since 1996 to hold an art/design festival.
It kicked off in Gois on Friday, with animation and music in the streets and the opening of an art exhibition, and later in the evening was an event called Aldeias historicas – Historic villages. So I grabbed my camera and headed to town.

GOIS ART FESTIVAL 009

The voluntary  fire brigade band  with  giant puppets

The voluntary fire brigade band with giant puppets

I missed the opening speeches and presentations , but got there in time to see 4 giant puppets and the band from the fire brigade, making its way to the towns gallery space.

The art exhibition was bigger and better than I was expecting. The gallery space is really nice for such a small town, and it was great to see it in use. It was packed with both the artists and visitors, and there was a variety of works on display .
GOIS ART FESTIVAL 018

GOIS ART FESTIVAL 019

GOIS ART FESTIVAL 017

GOIS ART FESTIVAL 015

The final event of day one, “Aldeias Historicas” turned out to be a fashion show, and was a real surprise . It was brilliant. The lighting, sound, and location made it really atmospheric, and I loved the clothes, which were inspired by old buildings and churches around Central Portugal. They were 100% Portuguese, as the wool comes from the Sierra Estrella (a mountain range about 80 kms from here) and they are designed and made by a very talented man, Miguel Gigante, from Central Portugal

GOIS ART FESTIVAL 031

GOIS ART FESTIVAL 025

Here is a link to give you a brief glimpse of his work. http://vimeo.com/61051351

So that was day 1 .
In my next post I will share some more highlights from this week-end.

Author: portugalholidayguide

I love making and creating , and trying out new ideas .

Leave a Reply

