Central Portugal – Off the Tourist Trail

I got there eventually !

1 Comment

Whenever I visit the supermarket in Lousa , I pass the eco museum and think,next week I will go in and have a look. I have been thinking to go for about a year, and last week I finally made it.

I wasn’t sure what to expect. Apparently an eco museum looks at an areas identity. It turned out to be an assortment of farming tools, carts, yolks, pots, beekeeping, and bread making equipment, and a few other bits and pieces.
It was not the most exciting place but was worth the 1€ to have a wander around.
I was interested to know how old the things on display were, but there was very little information other than the name and purpose.
As my fellow villagers still use a lot of the tools I saw, maybe I should ask them .
In fact I am hoping to talk to my next door neighbour soon ,and ask him to show me his tool shed. I have a feeling I might find that more interesting, as he always has a story to go with everything, which for me was where the museum was lacking.

The other day he took me to look at a cart he made 50 years ago. He used to use it to collect wood on and it still had a functioning hand brake, which he demonstrated.

manuels cart

manuels cart

Anyway, here are a few photos from the eco museum. Although some of them look like instruments of torture ,they are all connected to farming .

water vessels,and chestnut roasting pots

water vessels,and chestnut roasting pots

this is to break up the lumpy soil

this is to break up the lumpy soil

digging tools

digging tools

cutting tools

cutting tools

A trilho for threshing wheat , and cutting straw

A trilho for threshing wheat , and cutting straw

 a different type of trilho

a different type of trilho

a simple cart

a simple cart

bee hives made from cork

bee hives made from cork

Author: portugalholidayguide

I love making and creating , and trying out new ideas .

One thought on “I got there eventually !

  1. Love those Bee hives

Leave a Reply

