Central Portugal – Off the Tourist Trail

ORANGES AND LEMONS …..

2 Comments


I have always loved being able to pick fruit straight off trees and bushes that is growing wild.
When I was little I used to go up the fields at the back of our house, and pick blackberries for mum to make jam and pies with.As a family we all used to go to the bilberry woods and spend hours picking enough tiny berries to make a yummy pie .
As I grew up the activity continued. I picked elderberries, blackberries and anything else I could find ,and made home made wine
Years on, I find I am at it again.

This morning I have been picking lemons and oranges from the village trees to make into something edible.

<

As the village ladies gave me two dozen eggs at the week end, I think I will have a go at making some lemon and orange curd.

I have never made it before but I have googled a recipe and it looks simple enough.
So,here goes.
Hopefully I will be able to spread it on my toast tomorrow for breakfast !

Author: portugalholidayguide

I love making and creating , and trying out new ideas .

2 thoughts on “ORANGES AND LEMONS …..

  1. Oh, this is funny: I was given half a dozen eggs yesterday and plenty of lemons just recently… and made a jar of lemon curd yesterday! 😉 😀

Leave a Reply

