Central Portugal – Off the Tourist Trail

Some doors and windows in my village.

2 Comments

After my last post, a friend said they thought wooden doors and windows would be preferable to aluminium for my other house as they would be more  in keeping with the look of the village. I could appreciate what he meant, as the place does feel quite rustic, so I decided to take a closer look at my neighbours houses.

On this rainy grey afternoon, I decided to  take a walk around the village and  try out my new camera (not the best day for photography) by  taking a few shots of the windows and doors around the village.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As you can see, there are a fair old assortment of doors and windows, which vary in materials, style, and colour. The aluminium doors are found on the houses where people are living, and the wooden doors are mostly found on the empty houses and on the storage /goat sheds (and on my house of course )

The only similarity I could find was, all the doors and windows  were a few years old at least.

The many sheds dotted around,with old wooden doors  are what I think gives the village a rustic feel.

So I think that once my shiny new doors and windows become a bit more weathered they should fit in just fine.

Author: portugalholidayguide

I love making and creating , and trying out new ideas .

2 thoughts on “Some doors and windows in my village.

  1. Personally, I love weathered houses. So, ideally, we could all have old-looking houses but… perfectly insulated and with all the comforts inside! 😀 There’s a kind of Hogwarts charm to the idea…

Leave a Reply

