Central Portugal – Off the Tourist Trail

Door and windows …wood or aluminium ?

8 Comments

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Over the last week I have been getting quotes for windows and doors for the upstairs of my house/work space next door.

When I bought the doors and windows for this house I never even considered aluminium. I knew I wanted wood. I love the look of real wood  and thought aluminium would not look right, as well as it being  more expensive. So I found a carpenter who made me some beautiful hard wood doors and windows which fitted with the character of my house. I painted them with weather protection stuff and a friend hung them.

Four years later I still love the way they look, but I don’t like the way the upstairs terrace door has warped. I now have a gap that lets cold air in during the winter. This is not because they were badly made, or because of the type of wood, it is solely  due to the sun beating down on it for about 8 hours a day.

I also have come to realize that my large bathroom window, which is a single glazed pane in a wooden frame, gets very cold  and cools down the room at night. If I  close the internal wooden shutter it is better, but the bathroom is then too dark.So  I think double glazing might be another consideration.

With these things in mind I have decided to look at the possibility of aluminum doors and windows. Two of the windows and one of the doors will have sun on them all day long, and I think wood would warp in no time.

I want to have as much natural light coming in as possible, and so have decided to have a French patio style door (2 glass panelled doors opening in the centre ) for the door to the terrace, and  for the main front door to have 3 small glass panels running vertically down one side.

With so much glass, double glazed aluminium makes more sense than single glazed wood.

So I guess it comes down to aesthetic v practicality, (and of course price )

When I compare the price between the wood and the aluminium quote I have, there is not a great deal in it, and the aluminium quote includes fitting, where as the wooden one doesn’t.  In fact if the wooden doors and windows were double glazed then the wooden ones would be more expensive.

Therefore even with the two quotes I have back so far, I have made a decision. Aluminium it is .This time I am going for practicality over prettiness

Author: portugalholidayguide

I love making and creating , and trying out new ideas .

8 thoughts on “Door and windows …wood or aluminium ?

  1. Just came across your blog and have been browsing it – I think it’s lovely! Hope your life in Portugal becomes all you wish it to be.
    All the best!

  2. Still I am confused with selection of replacement windows for my home in Ottawa. Do they have any additional benefits when compared to the new ones? I know cost is the main consideration. But still, is there anythings else to highlight?

    • Hi .. I am not sure if I can help things . Here In Portugal I replaced my very old wooden windows with brand new aluminium ones, as they do not to warp out of shape from the heat of the sun and last longer than wooden ones. Are replacement windows in Canada not new windows ?

  3. Hi we are relocating to Central Portugal Arieas. The property will need without a doubt new windows and doors. Please can you recommend a company.

    Hope you can help

    Gloria

Leave a Reply

