Central Portugal – Off the Tourist Trail

A walk from Gois to Portela, via Alvem.

4 Comments

Yesterday the rain was hammering down all day. It was cold, damp, miserable and all my good intentions went out  of the window . Instead of  getting creative with my leather  and writing my blog post, I had a lazy day on the sofa in front of the fire, watching movies on TV, ( on Saturday Portuguese TV shows four movies in the afternoon, in the original language)  and eating  apple crumble and custard.

By the end of the day, I felt tired, had a head ache and was worn out from inactivity. It was not a good feeling.

This morning I was desperate to get out and have some fresh air. Luckily, I woke to find the sun trying to get through the low mist in the valley , so I grabbed my camera , put on my walking boots and begged a lift into Gois . I wandered  by the river  and then walked back to Portela, ( a 6km uphill walk via the  village of Alvem) taking lots of photos on the way .

The birds were singing away, the sun was shining. It was so lovely.

In the next few weeks all the Autumn leaves will have fallen, so I took as many photos of all the lovely colourful leaves as possible.

I just could not stop clicking away .

Unlike yesterday, I came back from my walk feeling alive, happy and full of energy to tackle my to do list !

I recommend getting out-of-doors, even if it feels like the last thing you want to do .Try it .

Kick yourself out of the door, even if it is only for 30 minutes . You will feel better for it, believe me .

 

Some photos from my walk

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: portugalholidayguide

I love making and creating , and trying out new ideas .

4 thoughts on “A walk from Gois to Portela, via Alvem.

  1. Looks beautiful there also this time of the year Sharon, would love to see it to.

  2. Lovely pictures Sharon xx

Leave a Reply

