Central Portugal – Off the Tourist Trail

INTERNET COMES TO THE VILLAGE

3 Comments

Last week, I went to the phone shop to sort out getting internet at my house . As I live in a small village, fiber optic, dongles and the like, are not possible. I would first need to have a phone line put in ,and then I would be able to have the internet connection.

I thought it might take a few weeks, but SAPO ( the internet company ) sent me a message the day after I filled in the paperwork, with an appointment to install the phone and internet . I was quite impressed, as I only had to wait 4 days. Then on Monday, I got a phone call making it a day earlier. I was double impressed. After 6 years of dealing with Telefonica in Spain , I was not used to things happening this quickly

Yesterday( Tuesday) the technician arrived, and after a quick walk around the village, it became apparent that before I could have a phone line and phone, the village needed to have a telephone pole erected.

I was a bit disappointed that it was not possible yesterday, and thought that realistically it would be sorted before the end of the month.

How wrong was I !

I was still in my pyjamas at 8.15 am this morning ,when the men from PT ( Portuguese Telecom) were knocking on my door. Wow that was quick !

My own telephone pole

They dug through the rocky ground, put up the pole, sorted out the cables, connected everything inside and out, and got me on line by 12.30. I was gobsmacked. ( in fact I still am a bit )

I cannot praise PT and the people from SAPO enough. They have been brilliant !

Now it will be easier to keep in touch with friends and family, check my mail , find out what is happening in the world, and  keep you up to date with what is happening here in Central Portugal.

Author: portugalholidayguide

I love making and creating , and trying out new ideas .

3 thoughts on “INTERNET COMES TO THE VILLAGE

  1. Crikey, how fab is that. Maybe more people will start getting Internet in your village now.

  2. Maybe Zoe, but as far as I know only one other house has a telephone , and a TV , and no one else has a washing machine , so it make be a while yet !!

  3. Brilliant Sharon and what a great pole ha ha x

Leave a Reply

