Central Portugal – Off the Tourist Trail

THE APRIL LAUNDRY BLUES

Leave a comment

Back in March the weather was very hot, and the area was parched after a Winter of very little rain . The rivers were unusually low for the time of year, and it was all everyone was talking about.

However mother nature has taking control, and in the last few weeks of April there has been nothing but rain, rain, rain. It is desperately needed to replenish the rivers and to restore the balance, but I am looking forward to a day or two of sunshine again. The reason being I need to wash some clothes!

Since living in the village of Portela, I have not had a washing machine, and until now it has not been a problem. I have been living as the local women do, and washing by hand at the village  “washroom”, then hanging it out to dry . However my pile of dirty laundry is growing daily, so I think I might give in soon and  go to the laundrette any day now…. once I find one!

With so many people in the area not having washing machines and very few with tumble dryers, I imagined there would be laundrettes everywhere, but it seems not. A lot of the houses have undercover verandas, and washing can be seen hanging out on most days, but when it is raining like this I can’t imagine it ever drying !

So tomorrow I am off on the hunt for a laundry, ( unless the sun comes out of course ) and if I can’t find one then I  will wash a few bits in the bathroom and dry them over my wood burner.

Then my washing will be clean, even if when I wear it I smell like Guy Fawkes at a bonfire !

(since writing this, the sun came out for long enough to  dry and a few bits , but I am going to track down a laundrette, just in case  . I have heard there might be one in Arganil,  and maybe one In Lousa. Will keep you posted .

The low tech “ laundrette “ in my village.

Author: portugalholidayguide

I love making and creating , and trying out new ideas .

Leave a Reply

