Central Portugal – Off the Tourist Trail

Photos of spring flowers around Portela

Leave a comment

Spring has sprung ..

The wonderful blossoming fruit trees seen as you enter the village of Portela

I had a wander around the village of Portela this afternoon, and managed to get a few photos to hopefully show how pretty and colourful everywhere is becoming .It is a real shame that photos can’t capture the smells also .There is a real fresh clean smell to the air ,mixed with the scents of mimosa flowers and eucalyptus.

I met one of my neighbours who was sitting peacefully whilst her goats were  grazing, and another lady who was busy planting out on her land. I thought I would try and practice my pidgin Portuguese and asked her whether the trees with the blossom were cherry.  I found out the dark blossomed tree was Peach, but had no idea about the pale pink or white one. She patiently repeated what they were several times, but I was still none the wiser, although I did understand that neither was cherry. She showed me the cherry trees which had no blossom on yet, and I understood when she said that it would flower in the year .

Author: portugalholidayguide

I love making and creating , and trying out new ideas .

Leave a Reply

